Dave Arthur

Some of the albums featuring the music of Dave Arthur.


In the 1960s and 1970s albums of English traditional folk song with Toni Arthur for Transatlantic, Topic, Leader, the BBC and Decca.

  • Morning Stands On Tiptoe (Transatlantic)
  • The Lark in the Morning (Topic)
  • Hearken to the Witches Rune (Trailer/Leader)

In the ‘90s an album of Appalachian Old Time songs and tunes with banjo player Barry Murphy for Fellside Records as The Rufus Crisp Experience.

From 2003 to 2020 eight albums for Wildgoose Records. Two solo: Return Journey 2003 (WGS313CD) examining musical cross-overs between America and Britain, Someone to Love You  2019 (WGS435CD) and six albums with Rattle On the Stovepipe, the band that came out of Return Journey. The latest Through the Woods 2020 (WGS432CD)

Rattle On The Stovepipe

Dave Arthur Vocals, Banjo, Guitar, Melodeon, Percussion; Pete Cooper Vocals, Fiddle, Viola; Dan Stewart Guitar, Banjo, Fiddle. This engaging trio inspires in me the same devotion that old Virginia musicians like Wade Ward and Uncle Charlie Higgins do. There is that same sweetness, ease, subtlety and good humour, every song and tune so well understood, so deftly played and so perfectly paced. Dave, Pete and Dan are all master musicians, but there is no sense of ego, no promotion of themselves as stars, although they certainly can dazzle. They are completely at home with the music they love, and can switch comfortably from American to English songs and tunes, as their relaxed and beautiful albums show. They know their material and they honour their sources, and Dave has a great knack of passing on information with wit and warmth. He is a great story-teller, too, and can compel your attention and break your heart when he sings a long ballad. Both Dave and Pete have that rare gift of drawing you into a song. As you'll have gathered I love them. Rattle are (to quote Samuel Pepys) a perfect pleasure. 

                                                                                                                                       Shirley Collins

Albums for Wildgoose Records:


  • Through the Woods WGS432CD (2020)
  • Poor Ellen Smith WGS419CD (2017)
  • Old Virginia WGS398CD (2014)
  • So Far, So Good WGS374CD (2010)
  • no use in cryin’ WGS371CD (2009)
  • 8 More Miles WGS333CD (2006)
  • Return Journey WGS313CD (2003)

For track listings, booklet notes, sound clips or to order copies visit artists' page for Rattle On The Stovepipe at or contact Dave at this website